Life is a Fairy Tale!

27 04 2009

Your life is a Fairy Tale!Kiss on Pier Kapalai

I must have received 25 emails after my wedding to tell me that my life is like a Fairy Tale. At first I was touched, felt lucky, I walked on a cloud looking at my prince that many of you call Big as a reference to the movie Sex and the City or Richard Geere, referring to the modern version of Cinderella; Pretty Woman!  The reality is that I am no Julia Roberts and even if Singapore is the best shopping place for shoes, I am no Cinderella nor Carrie Bradshaw.

Then I started to wonder; does life really need to be compared to fiction when it looks pretty good? Have we had it so rough that we only believe that happiness and beautiful endings are stories out of someone’s imagination or the product of a large Hollywood production.  When I say we, I mean “we” including me.  I sometimes doubt myself that it can be real or that the ending will be good.  I even caught myself being worried that something is going to fall from the sky on me, that something will come and jeopardize my happiness like a full cup of hot coffee dropped on my beautiful Fairy Tale book on a Sunday afternoon, just as I am about to read it. 

-In fact it is the other way around! Says Pierre to me while I was thinking out loud.  It is life that inspires movies or stories and too often we forget this.  

We sort of gotten use to see good stories as a quick fix of happiness while sitting in a movie theatre for 2 hours, before going back to real life. I remember the days where I booked happiness periods in my agenda at specific times because I was too busy taking care of problems.  I use to call them “Florida Afternoon” as if my head would go on vacation.  So today, I try to spend every minute (out of office hours) enjoying the best life has to offer. Of course it also means that we pay the bills at the end of the month.  We said Fairy, not Free!

But before I go further I should admit that after receiving the series of emails on my Fairy Tale life, I felt guilty, thinking that perhaps I am splashing my life to people thinking that they were ready or willing to hear it, or to see it.  I thought that perhaps it would be a pleasant moment in this depressing economy.  But now I am done with the guilt and the timidity (if I ever had any) and I am ready to continue laying the truth on the table: My life is a real tale and the truth is that I wrote and write every line of it myself, and I write it with Pierre.  Through this book of life I sometimes doubted, I often cried, I certainly faced many challenges and overcame a lot of ordeals in order to write it so today I am confident that this chapter is the most positive and happy one of my life. 

I can think of another person that seems always happy: my friend Jennie at the office.  Jennie has all the same challenges and sorrows we all have, but she deliberately chooses not to let it affect her.  She looks at all the positive things of life, she turns every statement into wonders and never let herself sweat or at least you never see her sweat. 

-I made that decision a long time ago Helene and it changed my outlook at life! Said Jenny one day to me after I asked her to tell me the secret of her constant happiness. 

– I did think she made a lot of sense, after all if you have your health, you have a job (or not, it is just sometimes better), if you have love and a home to go to at night, the rest of life is what you make of it! So until tomorrow when I get the result of my health screening check, I can fully live my life in confidence that I have it all and if my healthcare statement is all clear, I will have another full year ahead of me to organize more trips, more treks and more romantic evenings in beautiful Singapore!

Meanwhile, your testimonials gave us the idea of making our own memory book with all of our wedding photos.  A beautiful coffee table book that we will be able to consult page by page when life is less generous to us and perhaps then we will think:  WOW! This life was like a Fairy Tale.

Cheers la Vie!

BrideThe walkI do!Flowers The group photoHaving funCheersPierre, Virginie & Helenesand flowers


Actions

Information

4 responses

27 04 2009
Sara Young

Thank you so much Helene for sending me your gorgeous wedding photos.
Without a doubt, the most beautiful bride, marrying the most gorgeous man!
I am so happy for you both.
Big Hug, and yes I totally believe that if one is positive, that positive energy flows to others.

Big hug, and may your next 50 years be magical!
Sara xoxo

27 04 2009
Topics about People-search » Life is a Fairy Tale!

[…] De Lachine à la Chine added an interesting post today on Life is a Fairy Tale!Here’s a small readingYour life is a Fairy Tale! I must have received 25 emails after my wedding to tell me that my life is like a Fairy Tale. At first I was touched, felt lucky, I walked on a cloud looking at my prince that many of you call Big as a reference to the movie Sex and the City or Richard Geere, referring to the modern version of Cinderella; Pretty Woman!  The reality is that I am no Julia Roberts and even if Singapore is the best shopping place for shoes, I am no Cinderella nor Carrie Bradshaw. Then […]

28 04 2009
kloppert annick

quelle bonne idée ….quel beau texte ..quel superbe vie ! j’ai des larmes aux yeux ..car pour moi c’est dans 408 heures suelement et suis déjà superbement émue voir vos photos’ et votre bonheur ….superbe Hélène …!
je vosu embrasse fort
annick

30 04 2009
Marjorie Valcin

Chère Hélène,

Comme tu le mérites donc!!! Moi je ne pense pas que c’est de la chance, on travaille fort et on met du sien pour voir la vie du bon côté et aussi recevoir en retour… De toutes façons, comme disent les anglais, what goes around comes around, et s’il y a quelqu’un qui sème la joie, le bonheur et tout le reste autour d’elle, c’est bien TOI!

Bisous,

Marjo

Leave a Reply

